The FAIRest Dataset Award

The FAIRest Dataset Award is a competition in which data sets are awarded that best correspond to the FAIR principles. The FAIR principles were published in 2016 and are intended to help improve the findability and reusability of research data. The acronym stands for the attributes Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable. The winners will receive prize money of € 2000, which can be used for expenses related to research data management.

The competition has been held every spring since ther year 2020. The submitted datasets are evaluated using established FAIR assessment tools and the winners are announced at the annual RDM Days during which they can present the data set as well as their research project and institute.

In the following, you can find a list of previous FAIRest Dataset Award winners complete with links to the winning data sets.

2. FAIRest Dataset Award (2021)

Awarded on: 21.06.2021

Winning record: Monitoring forest health using hyperspectral imagery: Does feature selection improve the performance of machine-learning techniques?

Authors: Patrick Schratz, Jannes Muenchow, Eugenia Iturritxa, José Cortes, Alexander Brenning, Bernd Bischl

Use of prize money: Hard disk space


1. FAIRest Dataset Award (2020)

Awarded on: 29.06.2020

Winning record: Webis-Web-Archive-17

Authors: Johannes Kiesel, Martin Potthast, Matthias Hagen, Florian Kneist, Benno Stein

Use of prize money: Crowdsourcing Data on Amazon Mechanical Turk


Awarded on: 29.06.2020

Winning record: The SEOSS Dataset - Requirements, Bug Reports, Code History, and Trace Links for Entire Projects

Authors: Michael Rath und Patrick Mäder

Use of prize money: Hard disk space